Hanging out in Urban Fantasy land

Sorry to be such a stranger around here. [looks around; notices the place really needs a good dusting.] I’ve been kicking back and letting the words flow in my new urban fantasy story, The Doctor’s In. It’s the first book in a new series called Tales of Doctor Horror and Penny Dreadful, and that is one pushy duo. They keep shouting out ideas for future stories and I have to constantly whip them back into shape and remind them we’re still on the first book.

It’s exciting and exhilarating, and just a bit nerve-wracking. My first two titles were horror, so that’s the fan base I have going now. Will they thrill to the switch to urban fantasy? Will readers of urban fantasy that don’t like horror take an interest in the new guy? It’s kind of like starting all over again since this is a new genre.

Still, I believe I’m up to the challenge. This is one of those stories that seems to write itself. I’ve even gone the extra mile and actually use visual cues for this one. Usually I just keep the stuff in my head, but I felt a few pictorial representations were in order this time around.

Doctor Horror

The first image that came to me was for the character of Doctor Horror himself. This guy actually looks a little older than what I envisioned, but the clothing is spot-on. Yeah, the Doc is kind of an interesting character. How interesting? This is his car.

1930 Hearse

That might be a little bit of wish fulfillment because I always thought it would be cool to own a hearse. Yep, I’m a bit strange at times…  but come on. It really would be cool. Anyway, this is Doc’s ride, although Penny is the one that actually drives it.

We also have George.

George

Again, this isn’t exactly what I see in my mind’s eye but it’s close.

You probably noticed there’s no pic for Penny. I have a strong image in my mind of her, but I think it’s best to keep how I envision her a secret. The Doctor is In is a first-person POV, with lots of “I did this” and “I did that.” I’ll lay the foundation so readers have a starting point (she has pink-streaked hair) but Penny, and even the rest of the gang, will soon belong to others besides me, and they’ll be able to picture these guys any way they want to… and that’s how it should be.

The cover for The Doctor is In will probably be available soon. I actually have a cover ready now, but I need to let it sit for a little while and see if I still like it when I come back to it. If it still seems like the one, then I’ll be sharing it with you fairly soon.

Leave a Reply

